So you can come along

A girl with stories

Namibia in a nutshell July 14, 2009

Filed under: His truth,Namibia — Amanda Lynn @ 8:49 pm

“Walalapo meme!”  (Oshiwambo greeting resembling something like, “Hey! How are ya?”)    (:

After a little over a week in Windhoek, Namibia I feel like I’ve hardly skimmed the surface. You can’t pinpoint culture or language. It is incredibly diverse. The cleanest city in the world, it is so beautiful. It might shock you to hear that temperatures get down below freezing at night and only up in the 70’s during the day. I’m sitting here with a scarf and a hat on in July…in Africa. Crazy, right?!

I have been so blessed by the missionaries here in Namibia and by the family that I stay with. The family is made up of a mother, father and two daughters who are my age. Uncle Jilberto (the father) is from Angola and Auntie Eunice (mother) is from South Africa. The girls, Ndeshi and Mavis, are such a sweet blessing to learn from and talk with. Each night we meet as a family for Bible study and prayer. Their faith is so encouraging to me. This family and other believers I have met here take every opportunity to thank the Lord for the things I take for granted each day; safety in driving that day, food for the day, family, peaceful sleep each night, breath, life and the joy they receive from Him. The words “I need Thee every hour…” have taken on a whole new meaning.

I work Monday through Friday from 8-3 at an informal school for orphans and vulnerable children. The kids need to be loved and told they are valued, just like any other child. Pray for strength each day to love them more and share the Father’s love with them.
I am praying for each of you as you are praying for me. I pray that the Lord will bless you and keep you in His favor and that the enemy will not steal any of your faithfulness in coming to Him for your needs and for mine. I can feel the prayers and appreciate them more than I can express.

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me,
because the Lord has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor;
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim liberty to the captives,
and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor,
and the day of vengeance of our God;
to comfort all who mourn;
to grant to those who mourn in Zion—
to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit;
that they may be called oaks of righteousness,
the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified.
They shall build up the ancient ruins;
they shall raise up the former devastation;
they shall repair the ruined cities,
the devastation of many generations.

Isaiah 61:1-4

 

3 Responses to “Namibia in a nutshell”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I hope everything going well. We continue to pray for your service.
    Things here are busy, Jimmy starts back to school tomorrow, Abby has Madison soccer camp at Union starts today, and Amber just got back from camp. I’m still waiting to here if I’ve got a new position or not.
    Have a great day.
    Love ya,
    Lisa

  2. mom Says:

    I just read your July 14 letter,It is so sweet it made me cry. You should be a writer , all of us would be so Blessed.I am so pleased to hear your faith is increasing along side theirs . Life is full of God’s Faithfulness and Provisions. Can’t wait to hear from your BLOG again.

    Love you more than I can express., Mom

  3. mom Says:

    Hang it on the cross

    If you have a secret sorrow,
    a burden or a loss, An aching need for healing… Hang it on the Cross. If a worry steals your sleep and makes you turn and toss, if your heart is feeling heavy… HANG IT ON THE CROSS. Every obstacle to faith or doubt you come across, every prayer unanswered …HANG IT ON THE CROSS. fOR CHRIST HAS BORNE OUR BROKENNESS AND DEARLY PAID THE COST tO TURN OUR TRIALS TO triumph… HANGING oN THE Cross.


Leave a Reply

