So you can come along

A girl with stories

Looking back June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda Lynn @ 6:27 pm

It’s been one year since I left for Namibia and there hasn’t been one day of these 365 days that I haven’t thought about my time there. I am still broken for the precious people I met and the brothers and sisters that I learned so much from. As much as I hurt for them, I don’t hope to heal from it. My hope is that the Lord continues to break my heart for the things that bring Him sorrow and that I continually look to Him for my strength. I trust that He loves and knows these people more than I ever could, that He is sovereign and all-powerful to meet their needs. This is where I find peace and comfort, knowing that I am never truly powerless or incapable because I know the great I AM and I know that He is able.

“I don’t want to leave here
I don’t want to stay
It feels like pinching to me either way
The places I long for the most
Are the places where I’ve been
They are calling after me like a long lost friend
The place I was wasn’t perfect
But I had found a way to live
It wasn’t milk or honey
But then neither is this

I’ve been painting pictures of Egypt
Leaving out what it lacked
The future seems so hard
And I want to go back
But the places that used to fit me
Cannot hold the things I”ve learned
And those roads closed off to me
While my back was turned

The past is so tangible
I know it by heart
Familiar things are never easy to discard”

 

Leave a Reply

