So you can come along

A girl with stories

“The LORD works righteousness and justice for all who are oppressed.” May 5, 2012

Filed under: Anti-trafficking,Freedom,His truth,Melanie,Namibia — Amanda Lynn @ 6:54 am

***This is the third part of my friend Melanie’s story. Part one http://wp.me/pwmux-1r  and two http://wp.me/pwmux-2g are here if you want to start with the beginning.***

 

 

As April came and Melanie drew closer to the three month mark, she humbly stated that she was in need of some encouragement. Times like this, when Melanie needed to hear truth, she would say, “Manda, I need you to talk to me about His goodness and I need you to mean all of it – to believe all of it.” It was at that same time that self-doubt started to invade my heart. Who am I to speak with a sister in Christ who has been through so much as I sit surrounded by my comfortable life? How do I, having experienced so little pain in comparison, speak about how much He cares for us in our suffering? What authority do I have to speak these things over her sweet life?

 

 

I confessed this feeling of inadequacy first to God and then to Melanie. His answer, full of grace, was that I don’t have that authority, but that all authority is His. He reminded me through His word, that as the Spirit of Christ dwells in me, He bears witness with the same Spirit in my sister. Any truth, goodness, courage or life that comes out of me is His! He is here, with us, and He is an unending supply. So, yes, I am inadequate and proud of it as His glory is displayed in spite of me {2 Corinthians 12:19}.  Praise God for the freedom in that! Humility lessons like these were in steady supply. So, here again, Melanie’s suffering led to the LORD receiving His due glory.

 

 

On Sunday April 22nd, Melanie and I were able to speak face to face on Skype for the first time in a while. She kept saying that she needed to tell me something important. After about an hour, we were coming to the end of our conversation when she told me that she wanted to use this time to tell me goodbye.

 

 

Something that Melanie said that day simultaneously broke my heart and gave me courage. She said, “Sister, I’m ready to see Jesus, but I want to know that girls like me are coming behind me. So, I need you to promise me that you will not stop fighting for them.” She shared Psalm 103:6 with me, “The LORD works righteousness and justice for all who are oppressed. Melanie clung to these words and she wanted me to do the same. Just a couple days later, a friend who had been praying for Melanie encouraged and comforted me with this same scripture. In times like these, our words, though full of the best of intentions, are still void of divine inspiration. In our Father’s careful attention to detail, He surrounded us with His word. And the Word is always enough. The Sword of the Spirit cuts through all of the unnecessary things and finds the heart {Hebrews 4:12}. The miracle in this is that as His word cuts, it also heals.

 

 

That Wednesday morning, about 3 days after her and I had said our goodbyes, an email came with, “Miracle” in the subject line. In this email, Melanie told me that she knew people were praying for her because on her Tuesday morning (our Monday night) she experienced a renewed strength. At first, this alarmed her given that the doctor had warned her that many people feel a surge of strength right before they come to the end of life. But, she called her doctors in and they reluctantly performed the necessary tests. Those test results came back with an improvement that could only be described as “miraculous”! There was no evidence of cancer in Melanie’s body!  She told her doctors, “I believe I have been healed”. The doctors were stunned and told her this was impossible. Melanie smiled and told them, “No, this is my God!”.

 

 

So often, we pray for healing and yet we are surprised when God heals. Melanie was not shocked; she had been expectant in her prayers and was grateful for the way He chose to answer them. During this time of faithful prayer and expectant waiting, Melanie’s life was a picture of what Paul spoke of in Romans chapter 8, “But we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies.  For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we await for it with patience.” {vs. 23b-25}

 

 

Melanie, like many of our brother and sisters around the globe, chose a new name after accepting Christ. The new last name Melanie chose in 2009 was Lazarus. When I asked her about the significance of this choice now, her answer was, “I chose the name knowing that before Christ’s salvation I was dead, but I have been made alive. Now, my physical body has been restored to life also”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

