So you can come along

A girl with stories

Help Wanted September 14, 2012

Filed under: Anti-trafficking,Freedom,His truth — Amanda Lynn @ 4:34 am

What if I told you that right now – as you read this – there are children in your city being held against their will, being treated as if they were worthless and worst of all….they’re not being told that Jesus loves them?

Way to start off a blog post right?

But really, I know that this strikes a chord in you if for no other reason that you are human.

You were created in the image of God and so were they.

Now, what if I told you that the same thing is happening to children in India?
Do these children matter just as much as the ones in St. Louis?

Just the other day, I was putting up a flyer for our 4 on 4 basketball tournament to benefit http://www.asourown.org and a co-worker asked me why I care about that group of people so much.

This wasn’t the first conversation I’d had about my deep-seated longing for these girls to be free.

My answer was that I care because I too was once a slave and now I’ve been set free.
This, praise the Lord, led to a conversation about what that meant.

Believers have asked me the same question. “Why do you give so much time to this specific population?”

Well friends, I care about people being held against their will  – told they are nothing – because my heart was once held captive and lied to as well.  And you should know that, if you know Christ as your Savior,  you are in danger if you do not respond to this need. We are all in grave danger – those who are trapped as well as those of us who stand  liberated….Our witnesses before the throne of Jesus are currently – as in this very moment – being treated as less than human, as less than the image bearers that they are. This is an emergency.

We are, You are called to fight for justice and Truth. Join the fight now.
It might not be this exact need, but another soul who is considered “one of the least of these”.
Pray about it, not whether to fight injustice, but how.
Please, don’t wait to feel equipped or “good enough” and definitely don’t wait around for a warm-fuzzy to come your way.

His grace and His grace alone is all the sufficiency you need!

Just act in obedience and, preferably, act now.

While budget meetings and strategy planning times are wise, we cannot forget that lives – souls – are at stake with every moment that we spend waiting.
How long would you spend planning if your loved ones were there ones calling out for help?

I realize that the Lord is sovereign and fully capable in His sufficiency, but He does have something to say about our involvement in all of this.

Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.

::Matthew 25: 32-46::

 

Leave a Reply

