So you can come along

A girl with stories

Wishing for a cloud November 30, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda Lynn @ 4:47 pm

The congregation stands for the benediction and the church parking lot clears out.

The movie is over and the lights come up.

The work days comes to a close and you know it’s time to head home.

 

 

When we think about how our days are organized, we know that most things on our schedules come to a close and move on.

What about moving from ministry to ministry? Or church to church? Or job to job?

Some are called to stay put for decades and some are called to a place for a season. Either way, obedience comes in knowing when/if to move on.

But how?

 

 

Just the other day, my morning with the Lord was in the book of Numbers. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t expecting any big revelations that morning. So, regardless of my expectations, God spoke through His word. He is faithful. Who knew, right?

 

 

What I got was an old school example of His guidance in wandering times. That is, Israel traveling to the promised land of Canaan while a cloud, representing God’s presence, hovered over their place of worship. When the cloud stayed over the tabernacle, they stayed, when it moved, they moved.

At the command of the LORD the people of Israel set out, and at the command of the LORD they camped. As long as the cloud rested over the tabernacle, they remained in camp.

:: Numbers 9:18 ::

The next day, I was telling my parents (my in-house wealth of wisdom and insight) about praying through when it’s time to change jobs. Me, the girl who is predispositioned against the words, “No” or “I give up.”.

 

Their response?

Well, Mandy. We know that God is very present and is willing to show His people when to move on. Look at the children of Israel and the cloud He gave them to follow…”

 

Right. I think that’s what God said yesterday. Easy peasy.

 

I’ll just wait on a cloud to rest over St. Clare hospital and then follow it to wherever it moves.

 

If only it worked that way. My “cloud” might look a little different than Israel’s, but what I know to be consistent is the fact that I AM is unchangeable. His faithfulness in directing His people is true, is loving and is constant.

 

So, what matters most isn’t where I’m working or where I’m going; it’s what He is up to in my life. Whatever He’s doing and wherever He’s going is where I want to be too.

He leads.

He moves and…whether I can physically see my “cloud” or not…I’ll know I’m not alone.

And when that happens, I pray that I can move with courage.

cloud

 

Leave a Reply

