So you can come along

A girl with stories

HOPE’s name January 28, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda Lynn @ 8:39 pm

Daily, we say that we hope for things. “I hope that you’re having a great week!” “Oh, I hope so.”

I hope that I say the right things at my internship site so that the awesome ladies there don’t have to think twice about their decision to take me on as an intern.

I hope that my mechanic gives me good news about what’s up with the steering on my car.

That kind of hope is what’s used most widely. This kind of hope is wishful, but not certain – optimistic at best.

 

 

Webster’s Dictionary: Hope implies little certainty but suggests confidence or assurance in the possibility that what one desires or longs for will happen.

Hope, as the world typically thinks defines it, is a desire for some future thing which we are uncertain of attaining.

 

 

This is not the type of hope that I want to write about.

No, I’m looking to bring you some words on the kind of hope that Mr. Tozer talks about.

Loving Him and obeying Him, we suddenly discover that hope is really the direction taken by the whole Bible. Hope is the music of the whole Bible, the heartbeat, the pulse and the atmosphere of the whole Bible…Hope means a desirable expectation, a satisfying anticipation.
:: A. W. Tozer ::

 

 

Mmhmm, yes!

This Hope doesn’t begin in any one place in history. This Hope is not uncertain or wishful thinking. This Hope has always been, is unfaltering, is going to be here tomorrow and is one hundred percent certain.

Jehovah Elohim: My blessed HOPE

 

 

For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all.

Who hopes for what he already has?

But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.
:: Romans 8:24-25 ::

 

 

ἐλπὶς  This guy, this is the Greek word that Paul used writing to the church at Rome when he wrote of hope. Elpis literally means expectation.
If I expect something to happen, then I am sure that it will. I’m just waiting on it.

 

 

Since this hope is unfaltering and sure, we hope even when we can’t understand what is before us.

 

Just as Israel received sustenance from the Lord and called it “What is it?” {Manna}, so do we as His people receive what we do not always understand and trust that all things come from Him and that He is using all things to sustain us and bring us life. We hold the same hope that His chosen people, freed slaves, thousands of years ago had. We have the same Jehovah…our ever-faithful Jireh, our hope and our provision.
And whatever it is…that event or that call or that emergency that we do not understand, that moment when we ask God, “What is this?”…that’s when we can know that our manna is our sustenance. It is grace. It is for breath and for life. So, breathe on us, Father. Breathe on us, YHWH.

This breath of God…Numa, the Spirit. He provides the hope that we need when we are too weak to hope. For the Spirit, the Breath of God, is Hope Himself in us.

 

 

And because these words are true, I’m able to say that 2013 may be leading to some seemingly hopeless circumstances. But isn’t hopelessness the door to hope? And doesn’t hope have a name? Jesus Christ.

So, when I am hopeless, Hope is here. Hope is my confidence, my joy, my trust. Hope is all that I need. Hope can take as long as He needs because I trust that when He says He will accomplish something, He means it. He is trustworthy and true {Revelation 19}.

Hope isn’t confined to a set of worldly rules that separate the “big” and “small” things. Hope’s answers and victories may be in “small” things, “small” answers that still accomplish immeasurably more than we ask or imagine. Thank goodness that the size of my expectation does not determine the size of Hope’s assurance.

 

 

There are times when it is harder to hope than others.

When I realize that I am an unloving mess, a realization of brokenness, that I am a poor reflection of love. My impatience wins and I’m aware of my selfishness.

Then my hope is that he doesn’t let me stay this way.

So I pray, eyes drifting towards heaven and without words I share the ache. The one I have often tried to describe tried to heap onto the shoulders of others. A burden that was not made for any of us. A heaven sized weight that is meant to be thrown into the grave. It reminds me why I need a Savior.

And so I am but a poor reflection, but there will be a time…

Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face.

Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love.
:: 1 Corinthians 13:12-13 ::

 

There it is, 2 Corinthians 13, you and I know it as the love chapter. It’s needle-pointed into pillows across the US of A. I’ve read it and read it again and every time until now I’ve missed the impact of “love hopes all things”.

 

What does that mean, to hope all things? How do we remain upright in the light of all the negatives there are in life? Even when one thing we hope for comes true and there are a dozen things that don’t?

If I am hoping in all things , I’m not hoping all things. Because to “hope all things” is not something that I do. It’s the state of my heart if I am dependent on the Lord, an expectant waiting knowing that He will come and that He is always enough.

 

…Those who hopefully wait for Me will not be put to shame.
:: Isaiah 49:32 ::

There is not shame in this waiting, this hoping. Hope’s promises are sure!

hope

 

Leave a Reply

