So you can come along

A girl with stories

In Christ Alone May 19, 2013

Filed under: His truth — Amanda Lynn @ 10:37 pm

There is so much love in my heart for that song.

My roommates and I used to play it nearly every morning as we got ready. It has a way of getting a girl’s heart ready to face the day.

 

And I need to hear it today just as much as I did in 2006.

Six years later and I’m ready to break down what it means to be in Christ alone.

 

And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart. {Ez 36:26}

 

For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. {Colo 3:3}

 

A new heart, hidden with Christ in God…

We, who are His alone by grace alone, through faith alone in Christ alone..

We have full inheritance of the faith. God sees us as He sees His Son. {Colossians 1:12}

 

 

Through the sacrifice of Jesus I am…

Loved when I am altogether unlovable. {John 17:26}

Approved of, “well pleased” of even, when I am wholly deserving of rejection. {Matt 3:17}

Forgiving even when I am unforgiving. {Luke 23:34}

Pure! Spotless! Sinless! Faultless!  {1 Peter 1:19}

Selfless and humble when I am acting selfishly {Philippians 2:6-7}

Alive although I was dead in my sin. {Romans 6:4}

Full of authority even when I feel weak. {Matthew 28}

In dwelt and held by the hand even when I feel alone. {Psalm 18:35, Hebrews 5:13}

Faithful when I am faithless. {Ephesians 1:1}

His daughter even when I forget my name {John 1:12}

Untouchable to Evil, even when all I see is darkness. {1 John 5:18}

holy and blameless even when I am truly to blame. {Ephesians 1:4}

 adopted as his daughter, even when I run away. {Ephesians 1:5}

His. Even when I declare my own rights. {1 Corinthians 6:20}

a saint; all the obedience of Christ is bestowed unto me. {Ephesians 1:18}

a minister of reconciliation even as I myself needed to be reconciled {2 Corinthians 5:17-20}

a bearer of all the incomparable riches of God’s grace, brought near to God through Christ, a temple of the Holy Spirit {Ephesians 2 is GOOD!}

a shar-er in all the promises given to Jesus {Ephesians 3:6}

one who possesses a mind and heart protected by Christ, even when my mind and heart wander from the Truth {1 Corinthians 2:16}

eternal though all my eyes see is the temporal {John 6:47}

grafted into the True Vine, a branch to bear fruit {John 15}

In it all…I am more than a conqueror {Romans 8:37}

 

 

GRACE! GRACE!

God’s grace!

Grace that is greater than ALL my sin!

Marvelous, infinite, matchless grace,
Freely bestowed on all who believe!
You that are longing to see His face,
Will you this moment His grace receive?

 

Now I have no time to give a big, ugly “BUT” here and talk about how important obedience is. ALL of this is true, regardless of my obedience. I am SEEN and KNOWN as all of these things by the Father through Jesus. No amount of or lack of obedience will counteract grace. It is infinite, matchless, boundless, untamed. Let’s let this grace works it’s way into our hearts and minds and then react in the only way we are able…in radical gratitude and love. “No guilt in life, no fear in death! This is the power of Christ in me!”

 

Leave a Reply

