So you can come along

A girl with stories

To Be Free November 21, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda Lynn @ 3:31 pm

Is it really freedom after the rescue, after the right “services” are provided for victims, after a trafficker or pimp has been imprisoned?

What’s the benchmark for real “freedom”?

Yes, trusting in Jesus and yes receiving His grace.

But I’m not sure any of us will be free from it all until after all things have been made new.

Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.

:: 1 Corinthians 13:12 ::

In light of this, I’d be lying if I said that this work doesn’t wear on my soul. Yes, I have an Anchor and yes, I am full of hope and expectation for what I can’t yet see. Still, there is a time for everything. And in recent time, I am grieving.

I grieve the limitations of this life, my limited sight, the fall and all that means for the buying and selling of people, and mostly I grieve the fact that the wholeness of true, lasting freedom is not possible…not yet.

And this is what resulted, a look into what I see and hear from these amazing young women.

===================================================================

I want to be free.

Free from the cold I brave every night in hardly what you’d call “clothes”…

“Clothes” that hook the clients.

Free from stares – your stares that pierce me with looks of disgust and premature judgment – as you drive past me, pretending not to see.

Free from the terrors that lurk in the shadow of every night, EVERY. night. These shadows of men with families at home who are unaware of his “after-work errands”.

Free from the repeated exposure to infection.

Free from cruel “clients” and their unmentionable torture.

I want to be free.

 

 

 

 

I want to be free!

Free to be the child I am, to not sell my body to feed my little brother and sister.

Free to dream, to have options, options that allow my dreams to be realized.

Free to raise children with the normalcy and stability I never had.

Free to have a decent, legal, stable and honorable job.

Free to tell my family what I do – to not be covered in shame and lies.

I want to be free.

 

 

 

 

 

And most of all – I want to be free.

Free from the tentacles of this trap called trafficking.

Free from the drug that clouds my judgement, from those drugs that pull me back in when I try to break free.

Free from the scars and the branding that have me in a constant battle of guilt, self-loathing and despair; scars that decorate my life like a soldier’s medals.

Free from the nightmares and the flashbacks and from the hijacking of my daily thoughts with any vague scent, sight or sound.

Free from the pain I have hidden, free to reconcile with my past with my very different future.

Free to live.

Oh, how I long to be free!

 

One Response to “To Be Free”

  1. This is amazing! I’m so glad I get the privilege to be on this mission with you.


Leave a Reply

