So you can come along

A girl with stories

I See You September 1, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda Lynn @ 9:58 am

There are moments so weighty it feels like a crushing of spirit. There are also moments so full of hope and light that our hands seem to lift into a V all on their own as our chins tilt upward. My sweet grandmother lives that second part out and has for 75 years. When she does go through the weighty moments, she calls them valleys. The thing about valleys is that they are always between two mountains. There is always a mountain to look to…

 

I lift my eyes toward the mountains. Where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

:: Psalm 121: 1-2 ::

Earlier this month, Patricia Keel, big sister to 4 incredibly ladies, mother to 3 aunt to 14,  great-aunt to 23, grandmother to 3, wife of 56 years and friend to countless others….had a heart attack. The Lord has given her a capacity to love like none other. He saw her and knew and so He prepared the way to healing with already having her at the hospital during the attack. She went straight into open-heart surgery and miracle after miracle has poured in. She was not supposed to live through the night, but the Lord who holds our hearts had a physician hold her’s and bring back a heart beat. She has gained strength slowly and continues to struggle for breath, but what she doesn’t struggle with is to find joy.

This wonder of a woman, can’t speak just yet due to having assisted breathing, but she mouths her words well. She compliments her Occupational Therapist’s earrings and asks about their family. She mouths “Thank you” to each of her care-takers in the ICU. She jokes about me sneaking her in a Popsicle. And as long as I can remember she has said, “I see you, Miss Mandy! And I love you more.” She mouths this to each of the 25+ family members who have come each day to the ICU to visit.

There are things I have learned about the Lord in the ICU waiting room. I would not have picked the means by which I am learning them, but I’m grateful He still speaks. I have learned that trust is not something I have or maybe ever will arrive at completely. And yet, He is always good and so worthy as He calls me higher into surrendering with open hands. See, my people are always what I hold onto the tightest. And my grandma is my people. She is the strength to others’ weakness, the “you can” to anyone’s “I can’t”, the “Sunshine girl” for my grandpa’s cloudy days and the best courage-giver you can imagine. But she’d tell you, it’s Christ in her, her Solid Rock – the God who sees us. {Genesis 16:13}

He has taught me more about how He never sleeps, so we can. About how He never leaves us, so grandma is never alone. About His hope, though her flesh may fail He is the strength of her heart…and of mine. He has taught me about community, the people He uses to be His loving hands and feet mean everything when your family doesn’t know how much strength a casserole, fervent prayers and a hug can restore.

So today, as I head to the hospital to see my grandma, and she mouths, “I see you…and I love you more”, I can know the same words are being spoken and sung over her by the Maker and Healer of our souls. He is trust-worthy. Faithful and true. He is.

100_8033

Reader, your prayers are heard and our family does covet them. Please continue to lift her up to the God who restores.

Life is easy, when you’re up on the mountain
And you’ve got peace of mind, like you’ve never known
But things change, when you’re down in the valley
Don’t lose faith, for you’re never alone

For the God on the mountain, is still God in the valley
When things go wrong, he’ll make them right
And the God of the good times, is still God in the bad times
The God of the day, is still God in the night

We talk of faith way up on the mountain
But talk comes easy, when life’s at its best
Now its down in the valley, trials and temptations
That’s where your faith is really put into the test

For the God on the mountain, is still God in the valley,
When things go wrong, he’ll make them right
And the God of the good times, is still God in the bad times
The God of the day, is still God in the night

 

Leave a Reply

