So you can come along

A girl with stories

Advent: Trust,Wheelbarrows & Waiting December 20, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda Lynn @ 10:18 pm

In February this year, one of my best friends and I were gathered with women we didn’t know, a couple hours from home, in a woman’s house we didn’t know for a live stream of a conference. Women all across the United States and even across the world were all listening to the same talks and gathered praying and asking each other the same questions. “IF God is who He says He is, now what?”

Toward the end of what was an amazingly overwhelming time of learning and being challenged, we were asked what God was calling us to “fall into” that year. The illustration was to use dominoes and have each woman write what they knew God was asking them to do on the back as a visual reminder.

Some women were being asked to leave relationships and start new ones, to move jobs, launch into new ministries or leave their current ones. I knew within moments the Spirit was saying “TRUST…I want complete trust”. He could not have been more clear. I wrote it down thinking, “Of course I trust you, Lord. This seems a little out of place.” And that’s when stuff started happening.

*******

My family and I have spent more time in waiting rooms this year than any other time in my life. We have faced terrible odds and lots of “Impossible” and “Improbable” and “Never” in medical terms. My grandmother had a heart attack in August that turned things upside down for us. All that time that I thought I trusted the Lord was truly examined and laid bare. Did I?

 

His presence remained my constant. No matter how I felt or how good I was or good I wasn’t, He never changed. I learned that my grip on Him wasn’t at all what mattered. It is His grip on me that is my strength and my stay.

 

This week, my grandmother is home for Christmas and we’re still trusting Him to provide her every heartbeat as she continues to heal and our family continues to rely on His peace. In all of this, my grandfather, who has never darkened the door of a church or prayed or acknowledged Christ as Lord, arrived an hour early to a Christmas program at my home church to save seats for us all. Today, he told me he is praising the Lord for all He’s done and is praying for my dad.

 

My grandfather is praying for my dad because as of today, we were once again in a hospital waiting room. My dad’s heart has been so healthy for over a year and a half, but has gone into a dangerously irregular rhythm…again. And today, the doctors in the ER saved his life. Tomorrow they’ll do a procedure to attempt to reset the heart’s rhythm to a safe and steady one.

 

In these waiting rooms, it is never more obvious to me that I am powerless and helpless. There is nothing I can do to will breath into lungs or a steady pulse into a heart. Nothing. There is a Maker, an Author of Life, and only He can do these things. And I wait on Him.

 

 

And he said to me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” And I answered, “O Lord God, you know.” Then he said to me, “Prophesy over these bones, and say to them, O dry bones, hear the word of the Lord. Thus says the Lord God to these bones: Behold, I will cause breath[b] to enter you, and you shall live.  And I will lay sinews upon you, and will cause flesh to come upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and you shall live, and you shall know that I am the Lord.”

:: Ezekiel 37:3-6::

I wait for the LORD, my soul waits, and in his word I hope;

::Psalm 130: 5::

 

 

To think that thousands of years ago, the God who made the very first human heart and breathed life into the very first human lungs, made Himself nothing and took on infantile heart and lungs. After His beloved sons and daughters chose self over His loving plan, He made Himself susceptible to disease and pain and all the fragility that our fall from grace has brought on us. He came into life with His people who were waiting…waiting on this promise…waiting on hope and deliverance.

 

Oh, come O Rod of Jesse’s stem,

From ev’ry foe deliver them
That trust your mighty pow’r to save; 
Bring them in vict’ry through the grave.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to you, O Israel!

Oh, come, our Dayspring from on high,
And cheer us by your drawing nigh,
Disperse the gloomy clouds of night,
And death’s dark shadows put to flight.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to you, O Israel!

Oh, come, Desire of nations, bind
In one the hearts of all mankind;
Oh, bid our sad divisions cease,
And be yourself our King of Peace.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to you, O Israel!

 

And He did come. In the flesh, through flesh to deliver us from our flesh. There is now nothing that can separate our King from His people. He came, not on a silent night, but a loud, dirty, crowded, desperate night made holy. He came in the midst of waiting and asks us to trust His upside down ways.

******

About a month ago, I heard a story about this amazing tightrope walker who just kept moving up the ladder on the risk factor and succeeding. Crowds of followers and thrill-seekers would go where he went to watch with bated breath as he did riskier and riskier things. He crossed over city streets at sky-scraping heights in different major cities.

For his ultimate feat, he would cross Niagara Falls. As usual, there was a crowd gathered to watch this tense and amazing adventure. The man took a poll and asked how many thought he could do it. Nearly everyone raised their hands cheering and clapping. Then he asked if they thought he could do it pushing a wheelbarrow. Almost all the same people were still cheering and applauding. He paused and smiled. And then it got real.
“Great! So which one of you wants to volunteer to ride along?” 

***Crickets***

 

This year, the Lord told me to trust Him and in February I said, “Sure I do.” Then we went higher. Then we went even higher and the stakes went up. I watched Him remain true to His indelible character of gracious power in the lives of my dearest friends. I can raise my hands and clap in those moments and profess my belief in His sovereign hand to be faithful and true.

 

As I am standing there waiting, looking out over Niagara Falls-worthy feats in my life, He pulls out the wheelbarrow and asks me to volunteer. And in all the waiting rooms and on the riskiest days, it’s only by His boundless grace and my fear of heights that I can say I got in and faced Him as he guided that sucker across that gap of the known and the unknown.  And the age-old advice absolutely holds true….

“Whatever you do, don’t look down.

Keep your eyes and your chin up, Kiddo”.

 

 

So, if you’re there with me this Advent season or this year of being one who waits and hopes and prays…Whether your feelings are involved or are numbed out. You can tell your soul, He hears. He is here. He IS and He WAS and He WILL BE.

 

 

PS

If you’re reading this before December 21st, please pray for my dad as they do all they can do get his heart beating in rhythm again. Thank you so much, dear friends!

 

Leave a Reply

